a consumer sounding board:

They Suck: A Consumer Sounding Board » SPAM

adventures in mysterious exploitations: domains redirecting to adxtn.com

Started 3 years ago by catherine

  1. catherine

    catherine
    Geek Keeper

    Guess this qualifies as spam, if anything, it's on the same level of sadistic crap as spamming...

    So you have a blog, eh? So you wake up one morning, go to your site all ready to write about that crazy dream, but wait... what's this? Your domain is redirecting to another site? O_o???

    That's when the frenzy to find the injected code starts. So you turn off/delete/etc all your plugins, you delete and replace your themes, you download the entirety of your wordpress site and do a universal search for this intruder. But ya can't find it.

    *scratches head*

    Alright... To make a long story short, after removing and adding items back line by line in the theme header, we found this:
    <script type="text/javascript" src="http://www.yourdomain.com/js/swfobject.js"></script>

    I still have no idea where that directory came from (it apparently appeared *a year ago???*) or how that code got in the header. It wasn't there originally according to the first backup, and hasn't appeared on any other sites using that theme. What the hell right?

    Talk about going crazy.

    Anyway, if you stumbled on this post from the world of search engines, just remove that script and evil little directory and you should be fine.

    /end headache

    I'm accident prone.
    Quote || Posted 3 years ago #

RSS feed for this topic

Reply

Allowed markup: a blockquote code em strong ul ol li img cite.
You can also put code in between backtick ( ` ) characters.

 

Post Anonymously above or Register. If you register, you get your own name and a cookie! Well, not really a cookie... unless you post alot. Then maybe.





549 posts in 79 topics over 50 months by 30 of 99 members.